Peace Be Upon You

The thirty days of Ramadan are coming to an end and with Eid just around the corner, I thought I’d do a quick religious post. I generally try to avoid the topic of religion just because I believe it to be personal and there always seem to be politics associated with it. This blog isn’t meant to be controversial – it’s just about what I like and who I am. But the thing is, religion is a huge part of who I am so why not write a little about it?

I’m not one to shove religion down people’s throat and hopefully everyone who reads this post doesn’t interpret it that way. I just want to share one of my favourite phrases in Arabic, a custom Islamic greeting: As-Salamu Alaykum.

“As-Salamu Alaykum” means peace be upon you. I think it’s a beautiful way to greet people – why not wish peace upon those you love? Even upon strangers – everyone deserves peace and happiness in their lives. When I say good morning, I really do hope people have a good morning. Likewise, this greeting is meant to be said with sincerity and the hope that people are at peace. (I’m not entirely sure that last sentence made sense – you get the gist of it, right?)

In response, we say “Wa Alaykum Salam” which, too, means peace be upon you. In Islam, it is required that you respond with an equal or even better greeting. So, for example, when someone says “As-Salamu Alaykum”, you can respond with either “Wa Alaykum Salam” (which is equivalent) or “Wa Alaykum Salam wa rahmatu lahi wa barakatuh” (which means: may peace, mercy and blessings of God be upon you – a response better than the greeting you received).

I love this custom, and how you have to wish something just as good or even better to those around you. All it takes is a little bit of happiness and a few good thoughts to brighten up your day.

I’d love to know if there are any customs in your religion/culture that you enjoy – feel free to comment or message!

Be kind and God bless
xx

Leave a Reply

