Confessions of a Homebody

I like staying at home. Sometimes, a bit too much.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not a hermit. I would do anything for my friends and I do love them, but, the truth is, I like my family better.

You know what I genuinely admire about the Kardashians (that felt awkward just typing it)? How family-oriented they are. They have an amazing time just hanging out with each other, which, fortunately, is true about my family too. I like my brothers: they’re loud, annoying and hilarious. My mom laughs non-stop and puts up with my spontaneous and intrusive interpretive dances. And no one can make an awful, punny, dad-like joke quite like my own father.

I know a lot of you probably like spending time with your family too, but here’s where I get overly attached: sometimes, I’m annoyed with hanging out with my friends because it cuts in on family time.

I don’t live at home during the school year so I treasure the weekends I spend away from school and with my family. And honestly, even in the summer, seeing my friends once a week is a perfect balance. I love you guys, but if I saw you yesterday, I can wait another couple days. And please stop asking me if you can spend weeks at my house: you can’t.

Disclaimer: this post is an excellent indication of why I can count the number of my close friends with one hand. Luckily all of my friends are exactly like me so I know they’re not offended.

Leave a Reply

